Home > Style Icon > My 1st Style Icon

My 1st Style Icon

As you all can see my Mom was a TomBoy…so how did i become the Diva that i am today you ask?

VIOLA P. MOORE – My Paternal Grandmother

Grandma or Mommi Vi as some of her grandkids called her was before her time.  She knew how to sew, crochet, etc.  She was an educator married to an eye doc *my grandfather * my grandmother was a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., To give you some back ground info about Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  They were founded in 1908 on the campus of Howard University. They are the first collegiate sorority for women of color, for more information on this great organization please visit their website by clicking here.   No i am not a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha.

Back to Grandma, was a different kind of woman of color.  I believe if she had grown up now she would have been a lawyer and not an educator.  She was an english teacher then a librarian, she held both a bachelor’s degree and a masters degree.  But to me she was just grandma, the woman i looked up to style and diva wise.  She first exposed me to Marshall FieldsField’s is now Macy’s *boo hiss* Any who I HEART Marshall Field’s so much i worked there after college.  But Grandma would take me to get some clothes from fields because they would last and were good quality.  She stressed quality garments, and the value of investing in good pieces.  My family would buy me clothes that would last for years, like a long wool coat that i got from Evans *RIP Evans* and i had it from the age of 16 to the age of 30 when i feel apart, i still have not replaced it lol.

Grandma believed in the whole package from head to foot, that when you step out you look your best, make up done, hair done, nails done, shoes polished.  While i strive to follow all of that, she has instilled in me to look my best and be my best at all times. She helped start our family’s love addiction with clothing, accessories and make-up, mind you i am one of the few women in my family lol.  My Dad and youngest brother LOVE clothes!!!!!

Grandma Vi I Love you and Miss you…

Here are a few pics of me style wise in my early years…..



Categories: Style Icon
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

